gcc/nOVL relocations missing?

DeathBasket

Question

I'm having this error when writing actors in C; it has happened a few times before when I've edited actors using assembly code but the errors appeared much less often. There doesn't seem to be any problems with my code but when I have compiled it and converted to an overlay there are usually a few bits of relocation data missing though most of them are there. It's not that much of a hassle to fix this manually, but when it needs to be done every time I want to change some of the code in my actor it does become a hassle.

I just wanted to know if anybody else has come across the same problem or knows why this happens or how to fix it. I'm not a C expert (only just really started learning a bit) so I acknowledge that I may be doing something wrong somewhere. Thanks.

10 answers to this question

I'm pretty sure you were knowledgeable to do this, but by some weird event you may have missed it:

When compiling binaries for use as an overlay, you must add the switch -G 0 to prevent it from putting symbols in the small data section, as $gp relative relocations are obviously unimplemented. When linking a binary into an ELF file that is to be converted to an overlay, you must remember to retain all the relocation information with the flag --emit-relocs.

^^ Taken from: http://64.vg/dr/node/5

I seriously doubt that that was the problem, though, since I'm pretty sure you know what you're doing.

EDIT:

I haven't read the source code of this thoroughly, but it may aid you in reconstructing the relocation data: http://code.google.com/p/vg64tools/source/browse/n64/z_snippets/z_ovl_adapt.c

Thanks, but none of those is the source of my problem...