Were to get started with zelda hacking?

CrazyMartialArtsGuy

Question

As I have stated when i introduced myself, I want to get into this zelda hacking stuff. First off, I'm not a programmer...yet. I'm in college and my planned degree is computer science eventually becoming a software developer.One way or another i will be a programmer. But that is not the only thing i'm going to need for this. I want advice from everyone especially the veterans like zeth, naxylldritt , nyanpony, sakura just to name a few. Were did you guys start with this and what are the best tools to start out with. I have a project in mind that involves OOT but I will not start until I have what I need down. I have a tad bit of 3d modeling, and texturing but I mean very bare bones minimum stuff. So basically what I'm asking for is the very first step at becoming a zelda hacker. If there is already a thread for this please direct me to it, in the mean time I will start searching myself.

5 answers to this question

Start off with simple things like actor placement and texture edits and gradually move on to more complicated things (what comes after would probably be text edits). Once you get to advanced concepts where no one can really teach you the exact way to go about doing those things (hacking with C and ASM), you should have a decent amount of knowledge of the various file formats of the game. The Z64 wiki is a great place to start looking for information.

• Like 1

Start off with simple things like actor placement and texture edits and gradually move on to more complicated things (what comes after would probably be text edits). Once you get to advanced concepts where no one can really teach you the exact way to go about doing those things (hacking with C and ASM), you should have a decent amount of knowledge of the various file formats of the game. The Z64 wiki is a great place to start looking for information.