How did you feel when first starting game development?

EpicEbilninja

(EDIT: wow, didn't notice how long this became...)

It was difficult, as both my knowledge about things like the hexadecimal system, and the tools weren't quite there yet. I'm thinking of Pokemon Red and Blue here, which was probably my first foray into ROM hacking... It was during the early days of those games' hacking movements - back when Pokemap by PR was pretty much all there was, in terms of tools if I remember correctly. I did eventually learn more about hexadecimal and the Game Boy, at least enough to make codes that modified your inventory in RBY, as opposed to the codes that allowed you to change what was sold in shops - I was on holiday and didn't have access to the internet, yet wanted Master Balls or somesuch, so I just got the old Action Replay out and got to work, with not-equal searches, comparing results, changing memory...

Then with Pokemon GSC, I started learning more about bit operations, GB graphics, and more game-specific things like how warps and events worked, or how the map headers were laid out. It was a slow process, but there was a sprawling community - everyone was still learning, and everyone was willing to help you if you had a problem or question. Well, that was the specific community I was part of (good old FWB ~10 years ago, rest in peace), I don't know how it was internationally.