Petrie's Challenge (working title) (OoT Mod)

petrie911

This is a little something I've been working on for a couple years now. It's going to be a MQ-style mod of OoT, with dungeons completely remodeled but the overworld largely intact. I expect to complete all the dungeons, but it will take quite some time, so I'll be releasing a demo in the meantime.

this demo consists of the Forest, Fire, and Water temples, which have been strung together such that completing Forest takes you to Fire, Fire to Water, and Water to the end of the demo. Each temple has been heavily modified to the point where it plays almost nothing like the original. In them, you will find complex puzzles, difficult fights, and tests of dexterity unlike anything in other Zelda games. Will you rise to the challenge?

This mod can be played on any N64 emulator. For those of you with N64 flash carts, it can also be played on the N64 hardware. Unfortunately, it does not work in a VC WAD, so you'll have to use something like Wii64 if you want to play on the Wii.

Here's the preview

and here's the download link. The enclosed readme should tell you all you need to know.
http://cloudmodding.com/zelda/petrie/files/patcher.zip

UPDATED 3/5/2014

• Like 8

LOL, I'm so laughing at how people will be raging over your Forest Temple... I would rather give a timer that resets the room if they don't clear it, and some obstacles aside from flame pillars that players can avoid a bit better (spike traps are good), but that's just me.

Keep in mind the playability of it Petrie911, not just by making it a guillotine, because even a guillotine should have points of playability, and there's a high level of unfairness to that Stalfos fight.

• 4 weeks later...

A minor difficulty I've been having. (slight spoilers for Water Temple)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IVcEjlsu7Xw

I suspect it has something to do with the fact that the room now takes up different space than it used to. Anyone know how to fix this?